Name
Title
Affiliation
Primary Unit
Email
Area of Interest
Ian Kimbrough, Ph.D. Instructor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic Research Institute ifk@vt.edu Neuroimaging

Christopher K. Thompson

Assistant Professor Core Faculty   School of Neuroscience ckt@vt.edu Neurodevelopment, neuroendocrinology, and neurotoxicology
Weaver, Edgar N. Professor Adjunct Professor   Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic americophl@aol.com Head/neck trauma
Finkielstein, Carla Associate Professor Affiliated Biological Sciences finkielc@vt.edu Breast Cancer
Klein, Brendan J. Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic   Head/neck trauma
Rogers, Cara Marie Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic   Head/neck trauma
Jordan, Synkowski Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic   Head/neck trauma
Witcher, Mark Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic   Head/neck trauma
Panneton, Robin Associate Professor Affiliated Psychology cooperr@vt.edu Child Development
Apfel, Lisa Associate Professor
Adjunct Professor Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic
lsapfel@carilionclinic.org
Head/neck trauma
Fraser, John C. Professor
Adjunct Professor Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic jcfraser@carilionclinic.org Neuroscience
Logan, Chine S. Assistant Professor
Adjunct Professor Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion
  Head/neck trauma
Patel, Biraj M. Assistant Professor
Adjunct Professor Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic
bmpatel@carilionclinic.org Head/neck trauma
Prickett, Joshua Assistant Professor
Adjunct Professor Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic   Head/neck trauma
Ball, Sheryl Associate Professor Affiliated Economics sball@vt.edu Neuroeconomics
Bell, Martha Ann Professor Affiliated Psychology mabell@vt.edu Child development
Bergamasco, Luciana Instructor Affiliated Animal and Poultry Sciences lucianab@vt.edu Neurophysiological indicators of pain in livestock
Bertke, Andrea S. Assistant Professor Affiliated Infectious Diseases Department of Population Health Sciences asbertke@vt.edu Interactions between nociceptors and autonomic neurons
Bevan, David Professor Affiliated Biochemistry drbevan@vt.edu Alzheimer Disease and amyloid
Bickel, Warren Professor and Director Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute wkbickel@vt.edu Neuroscience of addiction
Blieszner, Rosemary Professor Affiliated Human Development, Virginia Tech rmb@vt.edu Mild Cognitive Impairment
Bowers, Mike Assistant Professor Core Faculty
School of Neuroscience bmike1@vt.edu Language and neurodevelopmental disorders
Buczynski, Matthew Assistant Professor Core Faculty School of Neuroscience mwb@vt.edu Drug addition and therapeutic target discovery
Campbell, Susan Research Assistant Professor Affiliated Human Development susancampbell@vtc.vt.edu Biophysics/Epilepsy
Cao, Guohua Assistant Professor Affiliated Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics ghcao@vt.edu Biomedical imaging systems
Carlier, Paul Professor Affiliated Chemistry pcarlier@vt.edu Neuromuscular junction
Cate, Anthony Assistant Professor Affiliated Psychology acate@vt.edu Visual system processing
Chappell, John Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute JChappell@vtc.vt.edu Vascular biology
Chiu, Pearl Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute pearlchiu@vt.edu Neuroimaging/Depression
Cline, Mark Assistant Professor Core Faculty
Animal and Poultry Sciences macline@vt.edu Neurochemical regulation of behavior
Clinton, Sarah M. Associate Professor Core Faculty School of Neuroscience clintons@uab.edu Biological underpinnings of psychiatric disorders
Corl, Benjamin Associate Professor Affiliated Dairy Science bcorl@vt.edu Lipid metabolism in the nervous system
Costa, Blaise Assistant Professor   Affiliated Pharmacology, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) bcosta@vcom.vt.edu Glutamate Receptors/Pharmacology/Biophysics
Davalos, Rafael Professor Affiliated Biomedical Engineering and Sciences davalos@vt.edu Bioelectromechanical Systems
DeLuca, Stephanie Research Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute stephdeluca@vt.edu Pediatric development and rehabilitation
Denbow, Michael Professor Affiliated Animal and Poultry Sciences denbowdm@vt.edu Neurochemical regulation of eating
Dervisis, Nick Assistant Professor Affiliated VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine dervisis@vt.edu Brain cancer
Diana, Rachel Assistant Professor Affiliated Psychology rdiana@vt.edu Human memory
Dorn, Harry Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute hdorn@vt.edu Nanoscience/Neuroscience
Elias, Zev Professor in Neuroscience Affiliated Department of Surgery, Carilion ZXElias@carilionclinic.org Head trauma/neuro critical care, pituitary tumors and radiosurgery
Feng, Xueyang Assistant Professor Affiliated Department of Biological Systems Engineering xueyang@vt.edu Biological System Engineering
Fox, Michael Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute mafox1@vtc.vt.edu Developmental Neurobiology
Frank Chris Assistant Director and Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Department of Statistics and Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute chfranck@vt.edu Statistical applications in fields such biology, bioinformatics, and medicine.
Friedlander, Michael Executive Director Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute friedlan@vtc.vt.edu Synaptic plasticity
Friedman, Bruce Associate Professor Affiliated Psychology bhfriedm@vt.edu Regulation of emotion and mood
Gilbert, Elizabeth Assistant Professor Core Faculty
Animal and Poultry Sciences egilbert@vt.edu Neuroscience of Nutrition
Good, Deborah J. Associate Professor Affiliated Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise goodd@vt.edu Nervous system genes that regulate body weight, exercise, and motivation
Gourdie, Robert Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute gourdier@vtc.vt.edu Cell-cell connectivity/Gap junctions
Harrison, David Associate Professor Affiliated Psychology dwh@vt.edu Clinical Neurospychology
Hodes, Georgia Assistant Professor Core Faculty Neuroscience ghodes@vt.edu Biological mechanisms of psychiatric disorders/ sex differences/ neuroimmunology
Howes, Gregory Assistant Professor in Neuroscience Adjunct Professor Carilion gahowes@carilionclinic.org
Neurosurgery, Spinal Surgery, Neuro-Oncology
Jensen, Rick Professor Affiliated Biological Sciences rvjensen@vt.edu Bioinformatics and functional genomics
Jia, Xiaoting Assistant Professor Affiliated Electrical and Computer Engineering xjia@vt.edu Neural engineering/Biosensors/Stimulators
Johnson, Blake Assistant Professor Affiliated Industrial and Systems Engineering bnj@vt.edu Nerve regeneration
Jones, Jim Professor Affiliated Architecture & Design jajone10@vt.edu Neuro-Architecture
Jortner, Bernard S. Professor Emeritus Affiliated Department of Biomedical Science and Pathobiology bjortner@vt.edu Neuropathology
Kelly, Deborah Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute debkelly@vtc.vt.edu Cancer/Glioma Cryo-Electron Microscopy
King-Casas, Brooks Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute bkcasas@vtc.vt.edu Social Neuroscience - Trust
Klein, Bradley Associate Professor Affiliated Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology bklein@vt.edu Neurodegenerative disorders and Aging
Kojima, Shihoko Assistant Professor Affiliated Biological Sciences skojima@vt.edu Mammalian Circadian Biology
LaConte, Stephen Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute slaconte@vtc.vt.edu Neuroimaging/Rehabilitation
Lee, Yong W. Associate Professor Affiliated Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics ywlee@vt.edu  Inflammation and Brain Injury
Li, Liwu Professor Affiliated Biological Sciences lwli@vt.edu Neuroimmunology
Marvin, Eric Assistant Professor in Neuroscience Adjunct Professor Carilion eamarvin@carilionclinic.org Vascular Neurosurgery
Milam, Thomas Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Department of Psychiatry, Carilion TRMilam@carilionclinic.org Depression/Psychiatry
Montague, Read Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute read@vtc.vt.edu Social Neuroscience
Moore, Ignacio Associate Professor Affiliated Biological Sciences itmoore@vt.edu Neurobiology of animal behavior
Morozov, Alexei Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute alexeim@vtc.vt.edu Neuroscience of empathy
Mukherjee, Konark Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute konark@vtc.vt.edu Neurodevelopment and synaptic function
Nanthakumar, Nanda Associate Professor Affiliated Vet-Med, Biomedical Sciences & Pathobiology nanda@vt.edu Neuro-Immunology, Gut-Brain Interactions
Olsen,  Michelle L. Associate Professor Core Faculty School of Neuroscience molsen@vt.edu Astrocyte biology and CNS development/disease
Orr, Mark Research Associate Professor Affiliated Virginia Bioinformatics Institute morr9@vt.edu Computational Neuroscience
Phillips, John Professor Affiliated Biological Sciences jphillip@vt.edu Magnetoreception and spacial orientation
Ramey, Sharon Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute slramey@vtc.vt.edu Child development and functional plasticity
Robel, Stefanie Research Assistant Professor Core Faculty Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute srobel@vt.edu Nervous system injury and trauma
Roberto, Karen Professor Affiliated Institute for Society, Culture and Environment kroberto@vt.edu Mild cognitive impairment
Rossmeisl Jr, John Associate Professor Affiliated VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine jrossmei@vt.edu Brain tumors
Santos, Webster Associate Professor Affiliated Chemistry santosw@vt.edu Brain tumors
Scarpa, Angela Associate Professor Affiliated Psychology ascarpa@vt.edu Autism
Sewell, Kendra Assistant Professor Core Faculty Biological Sciences ksewall@vt.edu Developmental systems Neuroscience
Sheng, Zhi Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute zhisheng@vtc.vt.edu Brain cancer
Simonds, Gary Professor in Neuroscience Adjunct Professor Department of Surgery, Carilion GRSimonds@carilionclinic.org Neurosurgery

Slade, Daniel Joseph

Assistant Professor

Affiliated

Department of Biochemistry

dslade@vt.edu

Brain Cancer/Cancer and neuroimmunology

Smith, Alec Assistant Professor Affiliated Economics alecsmith@vt.edu Neuroeconomics
Sontheimer, Harald Executive Director Core Faculty School of Neuroscience sontheimer@vt.edu Glial biology and nervous system diseases
Theus, Michelle Assistant Professor Affiliated Department of Biomedical Sciences & Pathobiology mtheus@vt.edu Head and Spinal Trauma, Stem cells, Regeneration
Valdez, Gregorio Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute gvaldez1@vtc.vt.edu Synaptic function & dysfunction in disease
VandeVord, Pam Professor Affiliated Biomedical Engineering and Sciences pvord@vt.edu Neuroengineering - Injury
Verbridge, Scott Assistant Professor Affiliated Biomedical Engineering and Sciences sverb@vt.edu Brain tumors
Wyatt, Chris Associate Professor Affiliated Electrical & Computer Engineering clwyatt@vt.edu Robotic and machine learning applications in medicine
Xie, David Research Associate Professor Affiliated Virginia Bioinformatics Institute davidxie@vt.edu Epigenetics
Xu, Bin Assistant Professor Affiliated Biochemistry binxu@vt.edu Alzheimer Disease - Protein misfolding
Zallen, Doris Professor Affiliated Science and Technology in Society dtzallen@vt.edu Neuroethics