Graduates of this interdisciplinary program will be proficient in integrating neurogenetics, cellular and molecular neuroscience, neurophysiology, cognitive, computational and systems neuroscience. Students will become conversant with prevailing theories and current approaches to understand: anatomical structures, physiological functioning, processing of information, adaptive and maladaptive cognitions/emotions/behaviors, disorders and diseases of the nervous system, and clinical/biomedical applications. This portfolio prepares program graduates for a variety of professions including but not limited to: biomedical research, medicine, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, marketing, business, law, politics, education and advocacy.

Check your research opportunities in Neuroscience 

Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Pickrell, Alicia Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience alicia.pickrell@vt.edu
Kimbrough, Ian Ph.D. Instructor and Postdoctoral Associate School of Neuroscience ifk@vt.edu
Bevan, David Professor Biochemistry drbevan@vt.edu
Blieszner, Rosemary Professor Human Development rmb@vt.edu
Klein, Bradley Associate Professor Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology bklein@vt.edu
Olsen, Michelle L. Associate Professor Neuroscience molsen@vt.edu
Roberto, Karen Professor Institute for Society, Culture and Environment kroberto@vt.edu
Robel, Stefanie Research Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute srobel@vt.edu
Sontheimer, Harald Executive Director Neuroscience sontheimer@vt.edu
Xu, Bin Assistant Professor Biochemistry binxu@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Phillips, Kristin F. Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience
kfphill@vt.edu
Vijayan, Sujith Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience neuron99@vt.edu
Bergamasco, Luciana Instructor Animal and Poultry Sciences lucianab@vt.edu
Bickel, Warren Professor and Director Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute wkbickel@vt.edu
Buczynski, Matthew
Assistant Professor Neuroscience mwb@vt.edu
Cline, Mark Assistant Professor Animal and Poultry Sciences macline@vt.edu
Denbow, Michael Professor Animal and Poultry Sciences denbowdm@vt.edu
Friedman, Bruce Associate Professor Psychology bhfriedm@vt.edu
Good, Deborah J. Associate Professor Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise goodd@vt.edu
Moore, Ignacio Associate Professor Biological Sciences itmoore@vt.edu
Phillips, John Professor Biological Sciences jphillip@vt.edu
Scarpa, Angela Associate Professor Psychology ascarpa@vt.edu
Sewell, Kendra Assistant Professor Biological Sciences ksewall@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Campbell, Susan Research Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute susancampbell@vtc.vt.edu
Davalos, Rafael Professor Biomedical Engineering and Sciences davalos@vt.edu
Dervisis, Nick Assistant Professor VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine dervisis@vt.edu
Dorn, Harry Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute hdorn@vt.edu
Elias, Zev Assistant Professor Department of Surgery, Carilion ZXElias@carilionclinic.org
Gourdie, Robert Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute gourdier@vtc.vt.edu
Howes, Gregory Assistant Professor in NS Carilion gahowes@carilionclinic.org
Kelly, Deborah Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute debkelly@vtc.vt.edu
Kojima, Shihoko Assistant Professor Biological Sciences skojima@vt.edu
Mukherjee, Konark Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute konark@vtc.vt.edu
Marvin, Eric Assistant Professor in NS Carilion eamarvin@carilionclinic.org
Lee, Yong W. Associate Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics ywlee@vt.edu
Rossmeisl, John, Jr. Associate Professor VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine jrossmei@vt.edu
Santos, Webster Associate Professor Chemistry santosw@vt.edu
Sheng, Zhi Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute zhisheng@vtc.vt.edu
Simonds, Gary Professor in NS Department of Surgery, Carilion GRSimonds@carilionclinic.org
Slade, Daniel Joseph

Assistant Professor

Department of Biochemistry

dslade@vt.edu

Sontheimer, Harald Executive Director Neuroscience sontheimer@vt.edu
Verbridge, Scott Assistant Professor Biomedical Engineering and Sciences sverb@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Ni, Lina Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience linani@vt.edu
Pickrell, Alicia Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience alicia.pickrell@vt.edu
McCoy, Chelsea Instructor and Postdoctoral Researcher School of Neuroscience cmccoy23@vt.edu
Bell, Martha Ann Professor Psychology mabell@vt.edu
Bertke, Andrea S. Assistant Professor Infectious Diseases Department of Population Health Sciences asbertke@vt.edu
Bickel, Warren Professor and Director Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute wkbickel@vt.edu
Bowers, Mike Assistant Professor Neuroscience bmike1@vt.edu
Buczynski, Matthew
Assistant Professor Neuroscience mwb@vt.edu
Campbell, Susan Research Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute susancampbell@vtc.vt.edu
Carlier, Paul Professor Chemistry pcarlier@vt.edu
Chappell, John Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute JChappell@vtc.vt.edu
Clinton, Sarah M. Associate Professor Neuroscience clintons@aub.edu
Corl, Benjamin Associate Professor Dairy Science bcorl@vt.edu
Costa, Blaise Assistant Professor Pharmacology, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) bcosta@vcom.vt.edu
Dorn, Harry Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute hdorn@vt.edu
Feng, Xueyang Assistant Professor Department of Biological Systems Engineering xueyang@vt.edu
Fox, Michael Associate Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute mafox1@vtc.vt.edu
Gilbert, Elizabeth Assistant Professor Animal and Poultry Sciences egilbert@vt.edu
Good, Deborah J. Associate Professor Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise goodd@vt.edu
Hodes, Georgia Assistant Professor Neuroscience ghodes@vt.edu
Kojima, Shihoko Assistant Professor Biological Sciences skojima@vt.edu
Mukherjee, Konark Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute konark@vtc.vt.edu
Nanthakumar, Nanda Associate Professor Vet-Med, Biomedical Sciences & Pathobiology nanda@vt.edu
Lee, Yong W. Associate Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics ywlee@vt.edu
Li, Liwu Professor Biological Sciences lwli@vt.edu
Olsen, Michelle L. Associate Professor Neuroscience molsen@vt.edu
Phillips, John Professor Biological Sciences jphillip@vt.edu
Robel, Stefanie Research Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute srobel@vt.edu
Sewell, Kendra Assistant Professor Biological Sciences ksewall@vt.edu
Sontheimer, Harald Executive Director Neuroscience sontheimer@vt.edu
Thompson, Christopher K. Assistant Professor Neuroscience ckt@vt.edu
Valdez, Gregorio Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute gvaldez1@vtc.vt.edu
Sheng, Zhi Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute zhisheng@vtc.vt.edu
Finkielstein, Carla Associate Professor Biological Sciences finkielc@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
McCoy, Chelsea Instructor and Postdoctoral Researcher School of Neuroscience cmccoy23@vt.edu
Pickrell, Alicia Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience alicia.pickrell@vt.edu
Vijayan, Sujith Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience neuron99@vt.edu
Klein, Brendan J. Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic  
Rogers, Cara Marie Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic  
Jordan, Synkowski Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic  
Witcher, Mark Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic  
Apfel, Lisa Associate Professor
Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic
lsapfel@carilionclinic.org
Fraser, John C. Professor
Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic jcfraser@carilionclinic.org
Logan, Chine S. Assistant Professor
Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion
 
Patel, Biraj M. Assistant Professor
Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic
bmpatel@carilionclinic.org
Prickett, Joshua Assistant Professor
Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic  
Howes, Gregory Assistant Professor in Neuroscience Carilion gahowes@carilionclinic.org
Weaver, Edgar N. Professor Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic americophl@aol.com
Bell, Martha Ann Professor Psychology mabell@vt.edu
Bertke, Andrea S. Assistant Professor Infectious Diseases Department of Population Health Sciences asbertke@vt.edu
Bickel, Warren Professor and Director Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute wkbickel@vt.edu
Bowers, Mike Assistant Professor Neuroscience bmike1@vt.edu
Campbell, Susan Research Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute susancampbell@vtc.vt.edu
Chappell, John Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute JChappell@vtc.vt.edu
Clinton, Sarah M. Associate Professor Neuroscience clintons@aub.edu
Elias, Zev Professor in NS Department of Surgery, Carilion zxelias@carilionclinic.org
Feng, Xueyang Assistant Professor Department of Biological Systems Engineering xueyang@vt.edu
Friedlander, Michael Executive Director Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute friedlan@vtc.vt.edu
Harrison, David Associate Professor Psychology dwh@vt.edu
Hodes, Georgia Assistant Professor Neuroscience ghodes@vt.edu
Johnson, Blake Assistant Professor Industrial and Systems Engineering bnj@vt.edu
Jortner, Bernard S. Professor Emeritus Department of Biomedical Science and Pathobiology bjortner@vt.edu
Klein, Bradley Associate Professor Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology bklein@vt.edu
Lee, Yong W. Associate Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics ywlee@vt.edu
Li, Liwu Professor Biological Sciences lwli@vt.edu
Marvin, Eric Assistant Professor in NS Carilion eamarvin@carilionclinic.org
Olsen, Michelle L. Associate Professor Neuroscience molsen@vt.edu
Rossmeisl, Jr., John. Associate Professor VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine jrossmei@vt.edu
Simonds, Gary Professor in NS Department of Surgery, Carilion GRSimonds@carilionclinic.org

Slade, Daniel Joseph

Assistant Professor

Department of Biochemistry

dslade@vt.edu

Sontheimer, Harald Executive Director Neuroscience sontheimer@vt.edu
Theus, Michelle Assistant Professor Department of Biomedical Sciences & Pathobiology mtheus@vt.edu
Thompson, Christopher K. Assistant Professor Neuroscience ckt@vt.edu
Valdez, Gregorio Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute gvaldez1@vtc.vt.edu
Finkielstein, Carla Associate Professor Biological Sciences finkielc@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Vijayan, Sujith Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience neuron99@vt.edu
Phillips, Kristin F. Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience kfphill@vt.edu
Ball, Sheryl Associate Professor Economics sball@vt.edu
Blieszner, Rosemary Professor Human Development rmb@vt.edu
Bowers, Mike Assistant Professor Neuroscience bmike1@vt.edu
Buczynski, Matthew
Assistant Professor Neuroscience mwb@vt.edu
Cate, Anthony Assistant Professor Psychology acate@vt.edu
Chiu, Pearl Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute pearlchiu@vt.edu
Clinton, Sarah M. Associate Professor Neuroscience clintons@aub.edu
DeLuca, Stephanie Research Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute stephdeluca@vt.edu
Diana, Rachel Assistant Professor Psychology rdiana@vt.edu
Friedlander, Michael Executive Director Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute friedlan@vtc.vt.edu
Friedman, Bruce Associate Professor Psychology bhfriedm@vt.edu
Hodes, Georgia Assistant Professor Neuroscience ghodes@vt.edu
King-Casas, Brooks Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute bkcasas@vtc.vt.edu
Montague, Read Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute read@vtc.vt.edu
Morozov, Alexei Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute alexeim@vtc.vt.edu
Olsen, Michelle L. Associate Professor Neuroscience molsen@vt.edu
Roberto, Karen Professor Institute for Society, Culture and Environment kroberto@vt.edu

 

Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Vijayan, Sujith Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience neuron99@vt.edu
Achenie, Luke Professor Chemical Engineering achenie@vt.edu
Frank Chris Assistant Director and Assistant Professor Department of Statistics and Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute chfranck@vt.edu
Jensen, Rick Professor Biological Sciences rvjensen@vt.edu
LaConte, Stephen Associate Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute slaconte@vtc.vt.edu
Orr, Mark Research Associate Professor Virginia Bioinformatics Institute morr9@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Blieszner, Rosemary Professor Human Development rmb@vt.edu
DeLuca, Stephanie Research Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute stephdeluca@vt.edu
Diana, Rachel Assistant Professor Psychology rdiana@vt.edu
Good, Deborah J. Associate Professor Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise goodd@vt.edu
Hodes, Georgia

 

Assistant Professor Neuroscience ghodes@vt.edu
Olsen, Michelle L. Associate Professor Neuroscience molsen@vt.edu
Ramey, Sharon Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute slramey@vtc.vt.edu
Roberto, Karen Professor Institute for Society, Culture and Environment kroberto@vt.edu
Scarpa, Angela Associate Professor Psychology ascarpa@vt.edu
Thompson, Christopher K. Assistant Professor Neuroscience ckt@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Davalos, Rafael Professor Biomedical Engineering and Sciences davalos@vt.edu
Jia, Xiaoting Assistant Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering xjia@vt.edu
Johnson, Blake Assistant Professor Industrial and Systems Engineering bnj@vt.edu
VandeVord, Pam Professor Biomedical Engineering and Sciences pvord@vt.edu
Verbridge, Scott Assistant Professor Biomedical Engineering and Sciences sverb@vt.edu
Wyatt, Chris Associate Professor Electrical & Computer Engineering clwyatt@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
McCoy, Chelsea Instructor and Postdoctoral Researcher School of Neuroscience cmccoy23@vt.edu
Pickrell, Alicia Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience alicia.pickrell@vt.edu
Ni, Lina Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience linani@vt.edu
Good, Deborah J. Associate Professor Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise goodd@vt.edu
Jensen, Rick Professor Biological Sciences rvjensen@vt.edu
Panneton, Robin Associate Professor Psychology cooperr@vt.edu
Xie, David Research Associate Professor Virginia Bioinformatics Institute davidxie@vt.edu
Finkielstein, Carla Associate Professor Biological Sciences finkielc@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Kimbrough, Ian Ph.D. Instructor and Postdoctoral Associate School of Neuroscience ifk@vt.edu
Ball, Sheryl Associate Professor Economics sball@vt.edu
Bickel, Warren Professor and Director Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute wkbickel@vt.edu
Cao, Guohua Assistant Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics ghcao@vt.edu
Chiu, Pearl Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute pearlchiu@vt.edu
Kelly, Deborah Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute debkelly@vtc.vt.edu
King-Casas, Brooks Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute bkcasas@vtc.vt.edu
LaConte, Stephen Associate Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute slaconte@vtc.vt.edu
Montague, Read Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute read@vtc.vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Phillips, Kristin F. Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience kfphill@vt.edu
Buczynski, Matthew
Assistant Professor Neuroscience mwb@vt.edu
DeLuca, Stephanie Research Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute stephdeluca@vt.edu
Friedlander, Michael Executive Director Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute friedlan@vtc.vt.edu
Gourdie, Robert Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute gourdier@vtc.vt.edu
Johnson, Blake Assistant Professor Industrial and Systems Engineering bnj@vt.edu
Lee, Yong W. Associate Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics ywlee@vt.edu
Ramey, Sharon Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute slramey@vtc.vt.edu
Robel, Stefanie Research Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute srobel@vt.edu
Theus, Michelle Assistant Professor Department of Biomedical Sciences & Pathobiology mtheus@vt.edu
VandeVord, Pam Professor Biomedical Engineering and Sciences pvord@vt.edu
Name Title Primary affiliation Email
Phillips, Kristin F. Assitant Professor School of Neuroscience kfphill@vt.edu
Ball, Sheryl Associate Professor Economics sball@vt.edu
Bickel, Warren Professor and Director Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute wkbickel@vt.edu
Chiu, Pearl Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute pearlchiu@vt.edu
Friedman, Bruce Associate Professor Psychology bhfriedm@vt.edu
Jones, Jim Professor Architecture & Design jajone10@vt.edu
King-Casas, Brooks Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute bkcasas@vtc.vt.edu
Milam, Thomas Assistant Professor Department of Psychiatry, Carilion TRMilam@carilionclinic.org
Montague, Read Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute read@vtc.vt.edu
Moore, Ignacio Associate Professor Biological Sciences itmoore@vt.edu
Morozov, Alexei Assistant Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute alexeim@vtc.vt.edu
Orr, Mark Research Associate Professor Virginia Bioinformatics Institute morr9@vt.edu
Panneton, Robin Associate Professor Psychology cooperr@vt.edu
Ramey, Sharon Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute slramey@vtc.vt.edu
Scarpa, Angela Associate Professor Psychology ascarpa@vt.edu
Smith, Alec Assistant Professor Economics alecsmith@vt.edu
Zallen, Doris Professor Science and Technology in Society dtzallen@vt.edu