Name
Title
Affiliation
Primary Unit
Email
Area of Interest
Shen, Francis X.
Associate Professor Visiting Professor Law School, University of Minnesota
fxshen@umn.edu Law and Neuroscience

Gross, Aaron

Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Entomology

adgross@vt.edu

Toxicology and the nervous system
Munson, Jennifer
Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering an Mechanics
jm4kt@vt.edu Brain Cancer and Neuroengineering
Jarome, Timothy
Assistant Professor Core Faculty Department of Animal and Poultry Sciences
jjarome@vt.edu Neurobiology
Vijayan, Sujith Assistant Professor Core Faculty
School of Neuroscience neuron99@vt.edu Neural Dynamics and Neural Engineering
Pickrell, Alicia Assistant Professor Core Faculty
School of Neuroscience alicia.pickrell@vt.edu Neurodegenerative diseases
Phillips, Kristin F. Assistant Professor Core Faculty
School of Neuroscience kfphill@vt.edu Behavioral, Cognitive Neuroscience
Ni, Lina Assistant Professor Core Faculty
School of Neuroscience linani@vt.edu Sensory transduction and Neurogenetics
McCoy, Chelsea Instructor and Postdoctoral Researcher Core Faculty
School of Neuroscience cmccoy23@vt.edu Epigenetics and emotional behavior
Kimbrough, Ian Ph.D. Assistant Professor Core Faculty
School of Neuroscience ifk@vt.edu Neuroimaging
Christopher K. Thompson Assistant Professor Core Faculty   School of Neuroscience ckt@vt.edu Neurodevelopment, neuroendocrinology, and neurotoxicology
Weaver, Edgar N. Professor Adjunct Professor   Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic americophl@aol.com Head/neck trauma
Finkielstein, Carla Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Biological Sciences finkielc@vt.edu Circadian rhythms, cancer, chronomedicine
Witcher, Mark Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic mrwitcher@carilionclinic.org Head/neck trauma
Panneton, Robin Associate Professor Affiliated Psychology cooperr@vt.edu Child Development
Apfel, Lisa Professor
Adjunct Professor Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic
lsapfel@carilionclinic.org
Head/neck trauma
Fraser, John C. Professor
Adjunct Professor Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic jcfraser@carilionclinic.org Neuroscience
Patel, Biraj M. Assistant Professor
Adjunct Professor Department of Neurosurgery, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic
bmpatel@carilionclinic.org Head/neck trauma
Ball, Sheryl Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Economics sball@vt.edu Neuroeconomics
Bell, Martha Ann Professor Adjunct Professor Psychology mabell@vt.edu Child development
Bergamasco, Luciana Instructor Adjunct Professor Animal and Poultry Sciences lucianab@vt.edu Neurophysiological indicators of pain in livestock
Bertke, Andrea S. Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Infectious Diseases Department of Population Health Sciences asbertke@vt.edu Interactions between nociceptors and autonomic neurons
Bevan, David Professor Adjunct Professor Biochemistry drbevan@vt.edu Alzheimer Disease and amyloid
Bickel, Warren Professor and Director Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute wkbickel@vt.edu Neuroscience of addiction
Blieszner, Rosemary Professor Adjunct Professor Human Development, Virginia Tech rmb@vt.edu Mild Cognitive Impairment
Bowers, Mike Assistant Professor Core Faculty
School of Neuroscience bmike1@vt.edu Language and neurodevelopmental disorders
Buczynski, Matthew Assistant Professor Core Faculty School of Neuroscience mwb@vt.edu Drug addition and therapeutic target discovery
Campbell, Susan Assistant Professor Core Faculty Animal and  Poultry Sciences susanc08@vt.edu Biophysics/Epilepsy
Cao, Guohua Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics ghcao@vt.edu Biomedical imaging systems
Carlier, Paul Professor Adjunct Professor Chemistry pcarlier@vt.edu Neuromuscular junction
Cate, Anthony Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Psychology acate@vt.edu Visual system processing
Chappell, John Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute JChappell@vtc.vt.edu Vascular biology
Chiu, Pearl Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute pearlchiu@vt.edu Neuroimaging/Depression
Cline, Mark Assistant Professor Core Faculty
Animal and Poultry Sciences macline@vt.edu Neurochemical regulation of behavior
Clinton, Sarah M. Associate Professor Core Faculty School of Neuroscience clintons@uab.edu Biological underpinnings of psychiatric disorders
Corl, Benjamin Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Dairy Science bcorl@vt.edu Lipid metabolism in the nervous system
Costa, Blaise Assistant Professor   Adjunct Professor Pharmacology, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) bcosta@vcom.vt.edu Glutamate Receptors/Pharmacology/Biophysics
Davalos, Rafael Professor Adjunct Professor Biomedical Engineering and Sciences davalos@vt.edu Bioelectromechanical Systems
DeLuca, Stephanie Assistant Professor Core Faculty Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute stephdeluca@vt.edu Pediatric development and rehabilitation
Denbow, Michael Professor Adjunct Professor Animal and Poultry Sciences denbowdm@vt.edu Neurochemical regulation of eating
Dervisis, Nick Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine dervisis@vt.edu Brain cancer
Diana, Rachel Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Psychology rdiana@vt.edu Human memory
Dorn, Harry Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute hdorn@vt.edu Nanoscience/Neuroscience
Elias, Zev Professor in Neuroscience Adjunct Professor Department of Surgery, Carilion ZXElias@carilionclinic.org Head trauma/neuro critical care, pituitary tumors and radiosurgery
Feng, Xueyang Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Department of Biological Systems Engineering xueyang@vt.edu Biological System Engineering
Fox, Michael Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute mafox1@vtc.vt.edu Developmental Neurobiology
Franck Chris Assistant Director and Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Department of Statistics and Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute chfranck@vt.edu Statistical applications in fields such biology, bioinformatics, and medicine.
Friedlander, Michael Executive Director Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute friedlan@vtc.vt.edu Synaptic plasticity
Friedman, Bruce Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Psychology bhfriedm@vt.edu Regulation of emotion and mood
Gilbert, Elizabeth Assistant Professor Core Faculty
Animal and Poultry Sciences egilbert@vt.edu Neuroscience of Nutrition
Good, Deborah J. Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise goodd@vt.edu Nervous system genes that regulate body weight, exercise, and motivation
Gourdie, Robert Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute gourdier@vtc.vt.edu Cell-cell connectivity/Gap junctions
Harrison, David Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Psychology dwh@vt.edu Clinical Neurospychology
Hodes, Georgia Assistant Professor Core Faculty School of Neuroscience ghodes@vt.edu Biological mechanisms of psychiatric disorders/ sex differences/ neuroimmunology
Howes, Gregory Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Carilion gahowes@carilionclinic.org
Neurosurgery, Spinal Surgery, Neuro-Oncology
Jensen, Rick Professor Adjunct Professor Biological Sciences rvjensen@vt.edu Bioinformatics and functional genomics
Jia, Xiaoting Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering xjia@vt.edu Neural engineering/Biosensors/Stimulators
Johnson, Blake Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Industrial and Systems Engineering bnj@vt.edu Nerve regeneration
Jones, Jim Professor Adjunct Professor Architecture & Design jajone10@vt.edu Neuro-Architecture
Jortner, Bernard S. Professor Emeritus Adjunct Professor Department of Biomedical Science and Pathobiology bjortner@vt.edu Neuropathology
Kelly, Deborah Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute debkelly@vtc.vt.edu Cancer/Glioma Cryo-Electron Microscopy
King-Casas, Brooks Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute bkcasas@vtc.vt.edu Social Neuroscience - Trust
Klein, Bradley Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology bklein@vt.edu Neurodegenerative disorders and Aging
Kojima, Shihoko Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Biological Sciences skojima@vt.edu Mammalian Circadian Biology
LaConte, Stephen Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute slaconte@vtc.vt.edu Neuroimaging/Rehabilitation
Lee, Yong W. Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics ywlee@vt.edu  Inflammation and Brain Injury
Li, Liwu Professor Adjunct Professor Biological Sciences lwli@vt.edu

Neuroimmunology

Marvin, Eric Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Carilion eamarvin@carilionclinic.org Vascular Neurosurgery
Montague, Read Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute read@vtc.vt.edu Social Neuroscience
Moore, Ignacio Professor Adjunct Professor Biological Sciences itmoore@vt.edu Neurobiology of animal behavior
Morozov, Alexei Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute alexeim@vtc.vt.edu Neuroscience of empathy
Mukherjee, Konark Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute konark@vtc.vt.edu Neurodevelopment and synaptic function
Nanthakumar, Nanda Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Vet-Med, Biomedical Sciences & Pathobiology nanda@vt.edu Neuro-Immunology, Gut-Brain Interactions
Olsen,  Michelle L. Associate Professor Core Faculty School of Neuroscience molsen@vt.edu Astrocyte biology and CNS development/disease
Orr, Mark Research Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Bioinformatics Institute morr9@vt.edu Computational Neuroscience
Phillips, John Professor Adjunct Professor Biological Sciences jphillip@vt.edu Magnetoreception and spacial orientation
Ramey, Sharon Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute slramey@vtc.vt.edu Child development and functional plasticity
Robel, Stefanie Research Assistant Professor Core Faculty Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute srobel@vt.edu Nervous system injury and trauma
Roberto, Karen Professor Adjunct Professor Institute for Society, Culture and Environment kroberto@vt.edu Mild cognitive impairment
Rossmeisl Jr, John Associate Professor Adjunct Professor VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine jrossmei@vt.edu Brain tumors
Santos, Webster Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Chemistry santosw@vt.edu Brain tumors
Scarpa, Angela Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Psychology ascarpa@vt.edu Autism
Sewell, Kendra Assistant Professor Core Faculty Biological Sciences ksewall@vt.edu Developmental systems Neuroscience
Sheng, Zhi Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute zhisheng@vtc.vt.edu Brain cancer
Rogers, Cara Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Carilion Neurosurgery   Neurosurgery
Busch, Cristopher Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Carilion Neurosurgery   Neurosurgery
Simonds, Gary Professor in Neuroscience Core Faculty Department of Surgery, Carilion GRSimonds@carilionclinic.org Neurosurgery

Slade, Daniel Joseph

Assistant Professor

Adjunct Professor

Department of Biochemistry

dslade@vt.edu

Brain Cancer/Cancer and neuroimmunology

Smith, Alec Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Economics alecsmith@vt.edu Neuroeconomics
Sontheimer, Harald Executive Director Core Faculty School of Neuroscience sontheimer@vt.edu Glial biology and nervous system diseases
Theus, Michelle Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Department of Biomedical Sciences & Pathobiology mtheus@vt.edu Head and Spinal Trauma, Stem cells, Regeneration
Valdez, Gregorio Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute gvaldez1@vtc.vt.edu Synaptic function & dysfunction in disease
VandeVord, Pam Professor Adjunct Professor Biomedical Engineering and Sciences pvord@vt.edu Neuroengineering - Injury
Verbridge, Scott Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Biomedical Engineering and Sciences sverb@vt.edu Brain tumors
Wyatt, Chris Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Electrical & Computer Engineering clwyatt@vt.edu Robotic and machine learning applications in medicine
Xie, David Research Associate Professor Adjunct Professor Virginia Bioinformatics Institute davidxie@vt.edu Epigenetics
Xu, Bin Assistant Professor Adjunct Professor Biochemistry binxu@vt.edu Alzheimer Disease - Protein misfolding
Zallen, Doris Professor Adjunct Professor Science and Technology in Society dtzallen@vt.edu Neuroethics